Building a large property portfolio from scratch?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by JohnHalas, 1st Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JohnHalas

JohnHalas New Member

Hi all,

I am new to investing in property and cannot wait to get into the market for my first investment property.

My goal is to build a significant property portfolio.

I am Starting from scratch and will have $40,000 to $50,000 deposit to begin with.

What areas do people suggest?

I have been looking at making sure I buy something so I have 20% deposit with a good cash flow.

I am only new so really hoping to learn and take on board accurate and positive information so I can create a strategy that will work for me.

Been looking at Brisbane and Adelaide as a starting point as rent seems to be higher than mortgage repayments so will not affect my family's everyday life much.

Any info or help would be fantastic.

Cheers
    John.

2. Sonamic

Sonamic Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum John.:D

Read. Read. Read. Endless supply of knowledge on here to arm yourself with. Unfortunately nobody is going to say "buy a house in x suburb with your 50k". In saying that, Brisbane and Adelaide are not bad spots to start looking.

Best of luck with your journey.

kierank and JohnHalas like this.
  3. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

158, D.T. and JohnHalas like this.
  4. Darren

Darren Well-Known Member

5. Biz

Biz Well-Known Member

None. Market is over cooked. Save more and look into something you can add value to maybe in a few years time.

SOULFLY3, C-mac and JL1 like this.
  6. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

Perth is not overcooked. But it is not a good time to buy either. :)

JL1 and Biz like this.
  7. kierank

kierank Well-Known Member

Welcome to PC @JohnHalas.

As @Sonamic stated, it is very unlikely that anyone on PC will tell you to buy a property in this street or this suburb.