Builders/Developers - Organising telecommunications

Discussion in 'Development' started by JValk87, 15th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JValk87

JValk87 Member

This is more of a general question than anything else, as I am employed in this field- but want to know more - considering starting my own company.

1) When building, how do you go about organizing telecommunications? I'm assuming you reach out to a Telecommunications Design & Build company? Or do you reach out to a company that handles all utilities at once?

2) Are there any gold standards as to how much you would pay? (ie designer by the hour, fixed quote for design & construct), etc.

Cheers,

2. euro73

euro73 Well-Known Member Business Member

The beautiful Hills District, Sydney Australia
    Do you mean connecting NBN, or do you mean cabling a house up for a home network/.smart home ?

3. JValk87

JValk87 Member

So I'm a designer, but I'm referring specifically to the design & build of pit & pipe network, usually a PVC pipe running up to and capped just outside the pit in the street.

After you finish construction and someone moves in, NBN or Telstra come out and haul the cable in (I do know that part also, but less relevant to developers).

4. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Are we talking a one house or two duplexes or requiring diverse feeds from different streets on commercial/mixed use/apartment towers?

Usually the design for a residential service would be left with the sparky to run the conduit from the pit to the external Luka box (or equivalent for NBN).

NBN requires a developer application to be made for the works nbnco.com.au

5. JValk87

JValk87 Member

It could be anything.

But thanks- it makes sense to go through your sparky.

6. lixas4

lixas4 Well-Known Member