Builder Inclusion Or Contractor (Perth WA)

Discussion in 'Development' started by Eddytaddy, 8th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Eddytaddy

Eddytaddy Member

Hi,

I am new to building cf buying established.

Seeking some advice on issues eg lighting, flooring, painting kitchen appliances etc:
    Is it more sensible to pay the builder for extra inclusions, or better to source independent contractors for each job? Would that be any differences for OO and IP?

The builder is B1 Homes. And time to source for contractors is not an issue.

Thanks everyone :)

2. Big Daddy

Big Daddy Well-Known Member

Builders have a markup but by sourcing yourself you loose your time and potential income as you won't be able to start those finishing jobs until handover.

I know at least 2 successful people who only get the builder to lockup stage(bricks, windows and roof) and get their own trades to finish with their own fittings including all cabinetry and flooring. They usually bring in everything in containers from China and sometimes windows and doors as well.

charttv likes this.
  3. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

Personally somethings I find better to leave under builders control for chain of custody with warranty work, for example I want the builder to do waterproofing and laying of tiles so if there is a leak down the track that they controlled those works and they can't say it was my tiler who caused it.

Some things are easy enough to do post handover but if time is of the essence then having the builder do it during construction you can save a lot of money.

Nine times out of 10 I find the wholesales rates + builders mark up does still cost me less than doing it myself. Plus if it's in the construction contract then it's easy to get the bank to pay for it vs using my cash at the end.

Things I sometimes arrange myself
    - window coverings