Build a house as investment property

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by iCodeEveryday, 19th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. iCodeEveryday

iCodeEveryday New Member

I am new to property investment and seeking advice.

Purchased land from a Property Developer in Armstrong Creek, Victoria and the land is expected to titled in Q3 2020.

I am unable to figure out what's the best strategy. Please advise.

Option 01: Lock in a Home Builder now, sign contract and build the house immediately after the land is titled.
    - Home Builders will only lock the price for 12 months
    - Home Builders are pushing me to sign contract now because they say they review their prices quarterly and it keep increasing

Pros Option 01:
    - I will lock price for house build now and won`t be hit by the quarterly increase.

Cons Option 01:
    - Worried if I build immediately after the land is titled, I will have trouble finding tenant. Not sure tenant would like to rent a house where neighbours are also building their house or vacant land around. They might feel isolated.
    - If I don't find tenant, I would have to cover the full mortgage cost approx $1800/month. No rental income
    - Not sure when neighbours will start building
    - Thieves in new estate. House will be unoccupied with no neighbours. They may break-in.
    - If the land title is delayed, I will have to pay the builder penalty fees of $400/month

Option 02: Wait for land to title and start the build around 11-12 months after titled. As per the land contract, I have to start building within 12 months and complete within 24 months.

Pros Option 02:
    - Neighbours will have started building or completed their build
    - Higher probability to find a tenant.
    - More time to save.

Cons Option 02:
    - Cost of building house would have increased. The house could potentially increase by up to 20K