Build 2 Townhouses on Parents Land: Loan help!

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Mace.H, 25th Mar, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mace.H

Mace.H Member

Hey guys, newbie here!

Hoping to get some guidance as my husband and I are racking our brains as to what we can do.

- Parents have an investment property in Vic (value $1M)
    - Approved to build 2 townhouses ($1M+ to build)
    - Plan is we fund the build, live in 1 (husband and I) and rent the other (income stream for parents)

The issue is trying to come up with funds for the build, as IP isn’t under our name and partner and I don’t have any property. Our thinking was to buy parents PPOR (to avoid CGT) and use the money for build, however we are still short by about $500k for the build costs

We then considered my brother buying 50% of the IP to help us fund but this will require us to subdivide before even building start which will incur min $60k extra costs and also way too messy...

Sooo...keen to see what are our options to fund the build but also minimising parents tax implications. Are we on the complete wrong track :| any suggestions or contact recommends welcomed! Thanks in advance!

2. Propin

Propin Well-Known Member

“Parents have an investment property”, then you later say, “Buy their PPOR”. So you want to buy their Ppor so they have funds to build on their IP?

3. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

What's even the point of this project? I'd be looking to just do your own investing and not get family involved at all.

4. Tony Xia

Tony Xia Structured Loan Advisor Business Member

A little confused, you're talking about developing your parents INV then buying their PPoR, are you referring to buying their house so they money from the sale can be given to them to construct?

It seems like you need to have a better conversation with a broker as it seems youre a little confused with how to go about this.

5. Trainee