Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. skater

    skater Capitalist -- www.skatepro.com.au Premium Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,934
    Location:
    Sydney
    If I join up with CommSec, it costs me $10 for a trade up to $1000, or $19.95 for trades of $1001-$10,000. With that in mind, if I want to invest $10k by putting $1k on 10 different shares/LICs/EFTs, is that counted as a $10k trade, & I get charged $19.95, or is it 10 x $1k trades & I get charged $100? Is there a record of the brokerage fees paid throughout the year, so for Tax time I just need to print out a statement from my CommSec account?
     
  2. hobartchic

    hobartchic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    11th Sep, 2017
    Posts:
    1,520
    Location:
    Hobart
    You get charged per trade normally. CommSec will be able to provide you with reports. I've done this with NAB and it takes a bit of work to figure out.

    It costs to buy and then to sell shares/ securities each time. So say a ten dollar charge to buy, then you hold, then get charged ten dollars to sell.

    Call CommSec and clarify everything though.
     
    skater likes this.
  3. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne

    $1k on 10 different shares is 10 trades. $100 charged.

    A contract note is produced for each trade (a statement / invoice)

    The Y-man
     
    skater likes this.
  4. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You do however need to keep a track (we keep a spreadsheet) of how many you buy, when etc, as you will need to figure out CG when you sell them.

    I work on fixed value tranches (so I keep track of the number of shares bought in a particular transaction, and always sell the same number of shares in the selling transaction)

    The Y-man
     
    skater likes this.
  5. willair

    willair Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    3,763
    Location:
    ..Sunny Brisbane...
    With the 10x trades within the Commsec platform over a month,the rest above that in month are broker fee free based on your online behavior ,but i have never done 10 trades in a month ,less then 8-10 per year..
    Then come tax time,you just click into your account-then into the statements section and it's all there in black and white..imho..
     
    pippen and skater like this.
  6. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I don't think you get free trades at commsec. Free access to IRESS, but not free trades as far as I know.

    The Y-man
     
    skater likes this.
  7. skater

    skater Capitalist -- www.skatepro.com.au Premium Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,934
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thankyou, that is what I thought it would be.
     
  8. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The most evil things that happen for me is the proverbial partial trade - where I actually manage to pick a high or low but only get a few shares traded on my order before the share price moves..... :(

    The Y-man
     
  9. skater

    skater Capitalist -- www.skatepro.com.au Premium Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,934
    Location:
    Sydney
    So...you ask for a certain number, but they don't put the order through?
     
  10. willair

    willair Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    3,763
    Location:
    ..Sunny Brisbane...
    Sorry about that,i got it mixed up.They just waive the iress subscription fees for the month,but i never have done that amount in a month nor ever intend to do..But they offered me something a long time like that when one buy was above 150k on one purchase..imho..
     
    The Y-man likes this.
  11. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I can allegedly get iress but then it only runs on some ancient version of ie last I checked! :(

    The Y-man
     
  12. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It's an open market.
    If you want to buy 100 shares of X at $5, but only one person wants to sell 10 shares at that price, you end up with 10 shares, with 90 unfulfilled - basicly doubling up your brokerage!!

    The Y-man
     
  13. skater

    skater Capitalist -- www.skatepro.com.au Premium Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,934
    Location:
    Sydney
    OK...bummer
     
  14. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Don't worry - rarely happens unless you are really trying to squeeze CG out from trading rather than looking at the income side.

    The Y-man
     
    skater likes this.
  15. turk

    turk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    691
    Location:
    Brighton
    Not with Comsec, I don't know about other brokers.

    -Your order remains in place and the time can be extended which may allow it to be completed.

    -You can also alter the price up or down on the order.

    There is no additional brokerage charged.
     
    skater likes this.
  16. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah sorry, I was trying to simplify it a bit too much.
    Comsec stays open for a week but can't be extended, so if the price has moved you have to adjust the order (no extra fees), but sometimes that can take the order beyond profitability.

    I found it a particular issue with some of the quite thinly traded REITS like CMA and ETFs like GOLD

    The Y-man
     
  17. turk

    turk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    691
    Location:
    Brighton
    You don't have to adjust your order, the price may come back and fill the order.

    When you place your order you can have it open for 1 month.
     
    skater and The Y-man like this.
  18. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,087
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Well jigger me! Thanks for letting me know.

    The Y-man
     
  19. turk

    turk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    691
    Location:
    Brighton
    Happy to let you know, but will leave the jiggering to others:po_O
     
  20. fajji

    fajji Active Member

    Joined:
    2nd Dec, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Self Wealth charges $9.50/trade regardless of transaction size. Never used it myself.

    Does anyone know where you can get level 2 information? Most brokers have that only when at the buying/selling screen but limited to 5 each way. Wondering if there is something that provides more depth. I've heard of Iress but never used or seen it.