BRI: Annerley Unit or Oxley Townhouse?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Monique83, 7th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

Annerley or Oxley?

1. Unit in Annerley

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Townhouse in Oxley

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. Monique83

Monique83 New Member

Hi everyone, wondering if y'all would mind helping a noob :)

I'm new to Brisbane, 6 months in and looking to buy a place of my own.

My main concern is a property that is quiet and private.
    I've found a 1970s brick 2 beddy, 2 carport spaces in Annerley which is 6kms south of Brisbane cbd, in the inner ring. $315k. It is in a complex of 14. It is dated so room for improvement. It has a small kitchen, no dishwasher or aircon or fans, needs a new bathroom, kitchen needs a makeover but is new, needs new blinds and the switches on the walls are very dated, bit worried about wiring etc. It has a nice small balcony overlooking the backyard which is quiet and private. Pretty well situated for transport.

I've also just looked at a 2 story townhouse in Oxley, which is outer ring of Brisbane, also 2 beddy, 19902 I believe, with a single garage. $295k. It is has a lovely little private courtyard out the back, has been renovated with a great kitchen, and dishwasher space. Bathroom upstairs with another loo downstairs and laundry nook. It is a little less private with the lounge area facing the other side of the 9 house complex and can hear a bit of traffic noise.

I work in Rocklea so Oxley is closer by about 5-10 mins. Occasionally work in the CBD. Both are beside childcare centres which are closed on the weekends.:confused:

Is there any advice on what to do from an investment point of view? Initially my concern is my own enjoyment, but i also want to keep Capital Growth etc in mind.

Any advice or pointers would be very much appreciated. TIA :)

2. willair

willair Well-Known Member Premium Member