Boundary line issue

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by youngy, 20th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. youngy

youngy Member

Hi People ,

I came to this forum looking for some advice before i seek it legally.

I am looking to put a new fence in on my PPor.

The issue is there is a roughly 1m easement between my boundary line and next door boundary line.

The fence has been originally put on my boundary line so next door get the whole use of the easment land and have established gardens, and a deck now on it.

If i was to replace the fence wouldnt it be fair to put the fence in the middle of the easment??

Legally shouldnt we both get half use of the easment?

Appreciate some help from people and look forward to learning more on the forum.

2. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

Is it an easement or crown land?

May be a case of first in first serve. I'm no expert though. Sounds like the neighbours have staked a claim on it!

3. youngy

youngy Member

If the neighbour was to move the fence to the middle they would have to remove a bit of there front entrance brick fence and their deck aswell so it would def cause a dispute.

But they are at the end of there years and im at the start of mine and need the extra space if legally i was entitled.

4. youngy

youngy Member

Yes thats right they have staked there claim on it many many years ago before when previous people where there.

But legally it isnt there land nor is it mine. So thinking the fairest way would be to put it in the middle

5. Cadbury99

Cadbury99 Well-Known Member

What is the easment for? If it for underground services it may not even be practical to put fence posts in the middle.

Regardless I'm not sure I would want to fall out with my neighbours over 50cm.

6. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

What type of easement is it?