books for a new investor

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by MTR, 16th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

met someone recently, new to property investing, what books do you recommend

I have not read anything on property for at least 10 years, most strategies probably outdated. For example Steve McKnight's books Re: cashflow strategy by buying regional property is probably not possible to achieve today.

Jan Somers - possibly also outdated?

She is a complete novice.

Thanks

MTR

2. devank

devank Well-Known Member

Last edited: 16th Aug, 2016
    Ouchmyknees, Sackie, ellejay and 2 others like this.
  3. Colin Rice

Colin Rice Mortgage Broker Business Member

The ole classic "Rich Dad Poor Dad" for basic understanding of finances would be a good start.

"Richest Man in Babylon" would also compliment the above.

Reprogramming your understanding of money is the starting point IMHO as without addressing this first you are open to self sabotage due to incorrect info from parents, friends, media etc.

4. Bran

Bran Well-Known Member

They should read Motivated Money, Peter Thornhill before making a deposit ;)

Sticky, gerege, c_west and 2 others like this.
  5. Jerry O

Jerry O Well-Known Member

* Hans Jakobi - Due Diligence made simple(easy) or Due diligence for dummies or something like that
    * Hellen Collier-Kogtevs - 59 Biggest Mistakes Made by Property Investors and How to Avoid Them
    * Margaret Lomas - 20 Must Ask Questions for Every Property Investor

But I agree with Colin's comment, work on the understanding of money first. so Rich Dad Poor Dad would be a good start.

6. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

Chris Gray's Your Empire

MTR likes this.
  7. albanga

albanga Well-Known Member

Steve McKnights 0-130 properties in 3.5years is my favorite beginner book.