VIC Bond return - rental record / final inspection?

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Satish N, 12th Jan, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Satish N

Satish N Member

Hi Guys,

I am handing back the keys tomorrow. It is my first time renting in Australia (VIC), and I didn't realise that I should have arranged a final inspection with my property manager before I returned the keys. Should I bring this up tomorrow when I return the keys, or just wait for the landlord to come back with the final report?

Furthermore, say if we both agreed that part of the bond was not to be returned (say if some needed for repairs etc), would this go on my 'tennancy record' that a part of the bond was not returned and affect my future rentals?

And should the property manager want to take out the repair cost out of the bond, is it possible for me to arrange my own tradie to fix up the mistake instead, so it doesn't affect my 'tenancy record'?

I have had a professional cleaner come in and clean so it all looks good to me with only fair wear and tear (some scuffs etc), but just asking this question in case my property manager is super picky :/

Cheers

2. Tom Rivera

Tom Rivera Property Manager Business Member

Most PM's prefer to do the final inspection without the tenant there anyway. You SHOULD get an opportunity to come back and make minor fixes, and you can request to organize your own trades. If they're on a tight time frame before new people move in they might be less flexible though, so just talk with them about it if anything comes up.

Technically new agents will ask if the bond is refunded in full and the agent can say there were minor agreed deductions, which isn't the end of the world, but many tenants prefer to pay for the costs and then get their full bond refunded. If you're worried, I'd recommend doing that.

George Theoharakos and wylie like this.
  3. Scott No Mates