Big or small mortgage?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by jinx77, 13th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

I’m a single professional, first home buyer looking to buy a modest property as PPOR.

I’ve saved up a 35-50% deposit on a strata apartment in inner Melbourne (or outer suburbs for a unit). As apartments and units don’t grow in value very much, is it better to buy a larger 2br property at the upper end of my budget, or a smaller 1br property that I can pay off quickly?

Obviously I’d prefer to have more space but I’m equally terrified of having a bigger mortgage. The difference in price is 75-100K.

What are the benefits of repaying a mortgage within 10 years, except for reducing interest?

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

in general (very general), 2 bed units appeal to more people. 1 bedders have a more limited market. Benefits of repaying a mortgage within 10 years is that you will be debt free faster. Units also go up, though less restricted supply may mean they rise less than houses. Avoid highrises and anything with pools, lifts, gyms, etc.

It really depends on your objectives. Most people here tend to want to buy more, own more, and (hopefully) get more gains in the future. If you want to just pay off your own place ASAP, thats fine too.

3. Morgs

Morgs Well-Known Member Business Member

What do you want to do with the apartment longer term?

If it was me that would influence what I'd buy and how I'd manage the debt. No financial advice below, just examples...

E.g. If my intent was to live in it for the long term as a PPOR then sell it and upgrade in 10 years time, then I'd probably gravitate toward the 1 bed and hammer down the debt as quickly as possible.