Big CGT event - distribute to individuals or to bucket company?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by jknishgrind, 28th Oct, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jknishgrind

jknishgrind New Member

TL;DR - is it worth considering distributing money to a bucket company (30% tax) versus distributing to individuals with CGT discount (~22.5% tax)?

Detail:

Long time lurker and first time poster. I have read with interest bucket company discussion on this forum and was hoping some people could provide a sniff test for the following. The detail is deliberately vague for the purposes of privacy so I understand that any comments would have to be vague as well. Primarily this is intended as check to see if anybody has an immediate points that would forestall me having to do any more research/analysis. I am not a tax/accounting person by profession.

My family trust has realised a substantial capital gain event this FY (the amount is larger than the $2M discussed in [A]) and we are deciding how much (if any) to distribute to a bucket company where it would be taxed at 30%, versus taking it all as individual income where it would be taxed at ~23.5% (47% tax bracket and 50% CGT discount - in reality maybe a little less due to distribution and tax etc).

We have received conflicting professional (and personal) advice about whether this should be done. The more I read on this forum about cowboy accountants (particularly in relation to bucket companies/div7) a the more worrying it sounds.

The intention is to gradually pay it out via franked dividend to family individuals at points in time when other income is low, effectively using lower tax brackets and franking rebates to realise a lower effective tax rate (so [C] and [D]) . My calculations suggest that assuming no other income, $20,000-$50,000 fully ranked dividend payouts equate to an approximatelly 5.5% - 20% effective tax rate (roughly linear across the range).