Best structure for IP in low income spouse's name

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by vjsingh, 1st Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. vjsingh

vjsingh Member

Hi all, just stumbled on this forum and blown away by how much great info on here, think I'll be visiting a lot in future.

Quick question - apologies if answered elsewhere or if the answer should be obvious, I'm quite new to this and having trouble getting my head around it.

Our PPOR is in my name only, and we have an IP in my wife's name only. My wife is earning below the tax-free threshold currently (has been mostly a stay at home mum for the last 2-3 years and this is likely to be the case for the next couple also) so we're not offsetting the loss we're incurring on the IP (roughly $10k/year, with depreciation) against any tax. We're looking to buy a new PPOR in the near future and convert current PPOR (in my name) to be another IP.

It seems that transferring the IP in my wife's name into joint names is fraught with danger (from what I've read elsewhere on here), so I'm wondering if there's anything else we can do to minimise the 'wasted' investment expenses against my wife's property and maximise expenses against my property? Or are we stuck with the current arrangements, and just need to make sure that we maximise deductibility for the current soon-to-be-IP (and any future) properties?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Not much can be done directly as you cannot claim someone else's expenses. Are you able to divert income to your wife somehow?

3. Sonamic

Sonamic Well-Known Member

What is the cashflow like on the IP? Because that will be Income for her name too.

Once you get the new PPOR and convert your current to IP this will "correct" things a little. Don't chase it purely for Tax Benefits though. Simply plan it better moving forward.

P.S. Welcome to the forum. :D