Bendigo vs. Ballarat

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Zbdoh, 27th Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Zbdoh

Zbdoh Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I'm a 24yo junior doctor looking at purchasing an IP with my partner. (Junior doctor also) We have worked with Empower Wealth to have a property plan created and they have suggested our first property be worth 650k in mid 2023.

Looking at our current savings and earning forecasts for the next 12 months we will almost certainly have that money mid 2021 vs mid 2023.

In addition to that it's likely we will be living in Bendigo for ~12 months sometime between 2023-2025 (complex reason as to why we know this but not the year - it's to do with the way medical training works).

A few questions for the group that we would love some help with. (We will be working with a Empower Wealth buyers agent but our own research has pushed us towards Ballarat and Bendigo as being good locations for long term investments)

1) looking at an IP in Bendigo vs Ballarat what do you think comes out on top in terms of yield and capital growth over the next 10-20 years (ultimate plan is to generate 3k/week passive income through property and this will be step 1). The demographics and economics of the areas are similar, but in terms of future potential it looks like Bendigo comes out slightly on top (5 years ago we would probably say Ballarat).

2) Does anyone have experience with moving into their IP for a 12 month period as a PPOR then swapping it back to an IP?

2. Fargo

Fargo Well-Known Member