Benchmarks for renovation cost

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by reainvestor, 3rd Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. reainvestor

reainvestor Member

Hi all,

I'm a beginner in property investment and planning for my first one. I like the ideas of buying an old place whose value can be added through renovation. However given I'm a beginner it is hard to estimate how much a possible renovation would cost. I understand the cost is very much dependent on the current condition of the property and also the renovation idea, I think it's useful to be able to roughly estimate the cost while I'm doing property inspection. I was wondering:
    • If anyone could recommend some sort of benchmarks of renovation cost (i.e., typically how much for laying new tiles/floorboard, painting walls, etc.)
    • If normally is it possible to bring in some handyman/renovators to physically have a look at the place and giving quotes?
    • Could you recommend a way to plan for this sort of thing at the inspection stage?
    Thanks

2. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

Look at the Archicentre website cost guide - they list indicative costs for various renovations. And it’s Melbourne-based.

2018 Cost Guide

reainvestor and lixas4 like this.
  3. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

If we're talking reno to sell, you need to make sure the spec of renovation matches the expectations of buyers in the particular area you are renovating. So assume in X area you know you need a medium spec level which will cost 50k. Then you need to make sure the gap between unrenovated and renovated is sufficient enough to allow you a profit, approx $2-3 return for every dollar spent. Don't forget transaction costs etc.

Looks alot easier than it actually is. To be profitable that is.