Being a developer

Discussion in 'Development' started by Sydneysummer, 1st May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sydneysummer

Sydneysummer Well-Known Member

I am quite interested in property development. Also I am a newbie, who has not done property development yet, but interested. Not sure how to get connected with other developer and know more people in property development .... anyone has any idea?

Thank you !

2. gach2

gach2 Well-Known Member

1) Read blogs/postings by developers online. In saying that I'm quiet sure majority keep things to themselves but there are a few out there that like to put up tips and show off there developments (theres actually a few posts on here)

2) Go do it. You will learn as you go. Your location says Sydney where entry is high and with the current market getting a bit cooler might not be the best place as a newbie thats still learning and most likely make mistakes (good as long as you learn from them). Maybe consider Adelaide or Brisbane where entry is a lot lower. Profit may not be high or existent but a good learning experience. Also if yields are higher you may end up with properties you can keep with cf+.

Sydneysummer likes this.
  3. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Any experience with property investment? Imho I wouldn't be recommending to a complete newbie to get involved with development unless they have a solid grasp of the basics of RE investing and it meets their risk profile.

You mentioned in another thread you find it hard to look outside of NSW as its not in your comfort zone . Keep in mind, imo developing will keep you many days waaay out of your comfort zone . Sometimes for months at a time.

Last edited: 3rd May, 2018
    Ricky Ng, Archaon, Jacque and 2 others like this.
  4. Rowan

Rowan Well-Known Member

I think some good ways to set yourself up (with knowledge and also contacts) would be: