Before buying a knockdown rebuild property..

Discussion in 'Development' started by Frosty123, 19th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Frosty123

Frosty123 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

My wife and I are looking at upgrading out PPOR, and are now considering buying an old house on a decent size block of land to knock down and rebuild our dream home on.

I have no experience at all in this, but we are looking at using Carlisle Homes or Boutique Homes to do the planing and building, and organizing our own demotion contractor.

We're in the very early stages of this, but are looking around Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne (Mount Waverley, Forest Hill, Nunawading) for a 700m2 block.

We've come up with some very rough costs on what would be involved in this:

Rent elsewhere during development - $30,000
    Demoltion Costs - $30,000
    Site Costs - $50,000
    New Home Construction Costs - $350,000
    Landscaping, Driveway etc - $20,000

What checks could we do on a property before rushing into anything and purchasing it:

Is it worth paying for soil checks prior to purchase? Worst case, how much would this affect the development of the new house?

Should we be showing the plans/overlays of trees and easements etc. to our builder prior to purchase to make sure it is suitable?

Should we be contacting council prior to purchase to ensure there would be no issue with obtaining demolition and building permits etc.

Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

2. Frosty123

Just to sum up all of the above :)

I guess my main fear is that we purchase the property, and find out early in the planning stage that we can't build our home, or it will cost a lot more than expected due to something we missed.
    I'm hoping to find out the main checks we should be going through before purchase.

3. Big Daddy

Big Daddy Well-Known Member