Be gentle, it's my first time

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ShoeboxEmu, 20th Mar, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ShoeboxEmu

ShoeboxEmu New Member

Hello

I've recently discovered this forum, so please excuse any silly things that have been asked an answered a thousand time previously.

I am a single mid-30s first-home buyer, I have a decent sized deposit, earn a slightly above average wage and have pre-approved finance.

I am looking to buy my first property, with a view to turning it into an investment property after the time-clause conditions of the first home buyer bonuses are met (must live in property for X months and so on). I am attracted to property investing due to the tax incentives and capital growth prospects. My strategy is to use the rent-vest method, as I prefer smaller apartment living, and I don't need to live in a large family home at this stage of my life, and I enjoy moving around quite often.

If you know if any resources that could help and guide me in the do's and don'ts, and especially how to identify growth areas, I would be really appreciative.

I'm currently trawling RE.com.au and Domain every day, but my eyeballs feel like they're going to fall out because I don't know what I'm really looking for.

I have looked into the "group buying clubs" and decided they're definitely not for me. Too much BS.

So I would like to learn myself how to identify a good property, what a growth area looks like, and how to build a property portfolio the right way.

Thank you so much for your time in reading this, and I look forward to becoming an active member of the forum.

Ben Peasley likes this.
  2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Cant help with the asset selection but just a couple of pointers due to the intended future use of the place