BA for Commercial IP ?

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Daydreamer, 15th Dec, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Daydreamer

Daydreamer Well-Known Member

Hi,
    Are there any Buyer's Agents who specialize in commercial property in Sydney or Melbourne?
    I have some experience with residential IP and also have used BAs for resi, but have found very little in terms of BAs for commercial property in this forum.

I think commercial IP (eg. office space, retail) would require even more knowledge and experience, including working out yields, lease agreements, comparable sales, etc for there to be even more value to be added by BA, to ensure the numbers add up and for negotiations on price.

I'm wanting to diversify my IP portfolio by adding commercial to the mix of residential, but have no experience in commercial. Having said that, do forum members think there is potentially more risk in commercial vs resi if there is potential risk of recession in Australia (and globally) in near future? I figure that commercial would provide better yield, and resi yields are not attractive at present in Syd or Melb.

Thank you.

2. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Daydreamer likes this.
  3. Todd

Todd Well-Known Member

Check out Scott Oneill at rethink investing. Do a search on this site has some info on him. Also there are interviews with him out there, podcasts etc. Seems like a successful guy with a sound business model.

Scott O'Neill, lixas4 and Daydreamer like this.
  4. Daydreamer

These are useful links and articles. I think they highlight the issues that I am already aware of. If I had not much residential IP already, I would probably go resi now. But the dilemma is that I already have some resi IP but zero commercial. So, in the principle of diversification (I also have shares/ETF), in terms of property IP, should I be going commercial?