Average to awful experiences with property investing - to invest SMSF in property or not?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Emma Pearce, 29th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Emma Pearce

Emma Pearce Member

Hi

My husband and I have had some interesting experiences investing in property in the past five years. Some average, some awful, some really good. All learning experiences.

What's the consensus on using a SMSF to invest in property? I have to admit I haven't searched other threads for this yet, I wanted to get an introduction post on here before I forget.

We've got a SMSF set up but we're conscious that making a bad investment decision could cause long term damage to our retirement fund - we're already having to dig ourselves out of a mining town related hole that will take years to recover from, we don't want to jeopardise our super too.

Would a property with two income streams lower the risk? Should we stick with our corporate superannuation fund and leave it to the experts?

Cheers

Emma

2. JacM

JacM VIC Buyer's Agent - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat Business Member

Hi Emma,

Ultimately the decision would be up to you as the SMSF directors.

If it helps.... there is a postcode restriction list when it comes to SMSF property loans. The banks simply won't lend to a SMSF in certain postcodes... and in some they will but with a lesser LVR. So their rules help indicate to you that you're looking in an unstable area.

Generally they'll expect minimum deposit of 20% (depends on fund size... you might need 30% deposit for eg if your fund balance is less than $150k) and will expect a certain rental yield, or a bigger deposit in lieu of this.

The large deposits are aimed towards ensuring the rent could cover most or all of the mortgage and bills so as to not rely on superannuation contributions from your employers so much.

3. Property Twins