Australian GPD Growth Slows To Lowest Since 2011

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by 2FAST4U, 2nd Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. 2FAST4U

2FAST4U Well-Known Member

Democratic People's Republic of Australia
    Last edited: 2nd Sep, 2015
  2. Bayview

Bayview Well-Known Member

Here's my; "I told you so!" moment.:p

I've been saying it for the last 4 years, and then get slammed with "Oh; you're just sooking up because your business is going bad!" comments.

But my view was and is formed by the various folks I talk to down here on the ground in the various industry small businesses who are not happy, Jan.

And; I think we've got more to go.

My prediction is that the $20k small business incentive won't have made a dent.

We'll see, when the figures come out from the start of that incentive.

380, Blacky, barnes and 2 others like this.
  3. 2FAST4U

2FAST4U Well-Known Member

Democratic People's Republic of Australia
    Yep!
    The ABS wrote that “Nominal GDP growth was 1.8% for the 2014-15 financial year”, which was “the weakest growth in nominal GDP since 1961-62.”

The other notable result is that despite the call for austerity by the Federal government, gross fixed capital formation (investment) rose by only 0.4%, which was driven entirely by public sector investment spending. Without the contribution of public spending overall, the Australian economy would have been in negative growth territory. Furthermore, real net national disposable income, which is a broader measure of change in national economic well-being fell by 0.9 per cent for the quarter and 1.1 per cent for the 12 months to the June-quarter 2015, which means that Australians are worse off (on average) than in June 2014. This is the ‘income recession’ that economists are now speaking about.

4. Guest

Guest Guest