Aussie expat: sell my PPOR and buy new PPOR while still OS

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by James Hill, 29th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. James Hill

James Hill Active Member

Hi All! (sorry for the long post)

I have been working abroad for a few years and am a non-resident for tax. Currently renting out the PPOR in nsw for last 4yrs. No other properties or Aus income. Our plan is to move back to Aus in about 3yrs. Have not bought any properties overseas.

While still overseas:
    We want to sell the nsw PPOR before it reaches 6yrs to stay exempt for CGT.
    With the cash we then want to buy a cheaper PPOR in vic and an IP unit in nsw hopefully at same time and try and get all this in place before we move back.

My question is if there is any tax issues in the order we buy the PPOR or IP?
    Also we will only lease out the nsw IP and the vic PPOR will be empty waiting for us to move in. Will we be liable for any Land tax or CGT on the vic PPOR if we take too long to move back? I assume no CGT as it won't be leased, but maybe vic land tax if kept empty?

Also does anyone know of any professional services that can sign sale and purchase contracts for us and take care of that for us whilst we are overseas or is it better to just fly back on those days to sign contracts in person?

Many thanks for your thought all !

2. ellejay

ellejay Well-Known Member

Are you liable for tax on the sale of the existing ip in nsw in the country where you are currently tax resident?

3. ellejay

Also, whilst buying an ip unseen via a ba is fine the criteria for a ppor is unique to yourself. What if you arrive and find you don't like it? I'd hold off on ppor purchase until you're on the ground and have time for a few visits to check out issues such as noise, sunlight etc that may not be apparent straight away.

Colin Rice likes this.
  4. James Hill

James Hill Active Member

Hi Ellejay