Auction or Private Sale

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Ben John1, 17th May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Ben John1

Ben John1 Well-Known Member

hi, I am looking for my 1st IP. Just wondering what is the best way of buying it.

Auction (at least I know the competition and what the market wants)

OR

Private Sale (how do I know that I won’t be paying to much?)

Suggestions please

Regards,

Ben

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

I would suggest that the method of buying would rank about 1,748th on the list of factors to take into account when selecting what IP to buy.

Who cares how you buy it - its the quality and price of the property that you should be focusing your time on!

housechopper2, Stoffo and Ben John1 like this.
  3. Ben John1

Thanks for the reply. I am new to property inspecting so I guess I don’t want to pay too much for my investment.

The reason I ask because I attended couple of auctions, and I can tell what the market is willing to pay for the property. I also read couple books that suggest is not ideal to purchase IP through auction as we are paying what the seller wants.

I tried to make a decent offer on a passed in lot but the agent wanted money way beyond the highest offer during the auction, hence the reason I ask.

4. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

Whereabouts are you wanting to buy?

5. Ben John1

Looking around Ringwood East, Croydon and surrounding

6. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

My rule of thumb: "best buys are usually after the property is passed in at auction".
    1. price has been set by the market (highest bid) or by the vendor (through vendor bid)
    2. no one wants it at that price (so you can work down)

The Y-man

Ben John1 likes this.
  7. Ben John1