Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

ATO variation not working?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by fullylucky, 28th Jun, 2016.

  1. fullylucky

    fullylucky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    27th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    413
    Location:
    QLD
    Is ATO's e-variation working for you?

    I don't understand how something that doesn't change year to year can "broke"?

    This is what our tax dollars goes towards?

    Can't even submit a variation.
     
  2. BennEznElle

    BennEznElle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It's not compatible with Firefox or Chrome or Mac or Surface Pro, so that might be the problem. Basically needs to be Windows and Internet Explorer I would think.

    Otherwise you will probably need to contact the ATO.
     
  3. Paul@PFI

    Paul@PFI Tax Accounting + SMSF Business Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,400
    Location:
    Sydney
    IE is the browser of preference. Yes I know thats old fashioned. So is the software.
    You must wait until the form loads before doing a single thing. Sometimes need to reopen it three + times.
     
    Last edited: 28th Jun, 2016
  4. Befuddled

    Befuddled Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's VERY broken

    Some of the data validation stuff built into the form can irreversibly prevent you from editing the form and force you to start again. For example on one of the pages there's a calendar date field for the period an IP is available for rent in the year. If it sits on a month with 31 days in it and then you change the "Month" to one with <31days, an error pops up saying it's an invalid date. That's cool...until you realise the same error pops up when you try to go back and change it. You're basically stuck...

    Save regularly. Preferably after completing each page
     
  5. fullylucky

    fullylucky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    27th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    413
    Location:
    QLD
    I've been using IE.

    I tried on IE, chrome and firefox.

    Refreshed 3 times.

    Not working.
     
  6. Paul@PFI

    Paul@PFI Tax Accounting + SMSF Business Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,400
    Location:
    Sydney
    Not refreshed. Start with a fresh clean browser and follow the link. Wait.

    If the X appears in top left corner it hasnt finished loading. Click and it crashes.
    If the page appears in colour wait until you can enter a TFN and the field turns white. Then its ready. Often better to walk away and come back after 5min