Assembling my development team, tips? Lawyers, Town Planners, Project Advisors, Engineers

Discussion in 'Development' started by scook32, 31st Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. scook32

scook32 Member

Hi all,

I'm about to take on my first development project (its a large subdivision in Brisbane) and I need to start assembling a team together. This includes lawyers, town planners, project advisors, accountants and engineers. I'm a civil engineer myself and most of my contacts are in the engineering and construction field but I do not have many contacts in the other fields. How do I go about selecting the best team for my project? How do I tell if a consultant is experienced in this field? And not just experienced but good at what they do? Who do I trust? (there are several developments around my site's area and often, I've seen biased opinions against different clients when they contract the same consultant i.e. consultant favoring the larger client). This will be the first of many projects, as I am aiming to transition to a career in property development (I studied civil engineering with this intention). I will take on a development management role and will control the overall project. I would like to reiterate that it is my first development project and quite a large project too, and hence, I do not want to make any mistakes in choosing an inexperienced consultant and would like them to provide their services as well as some guidance along the way.

Are tips to share?

Thanks

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Referrals

scook32, Paul@PAS and Perthguy like this.
  3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member