AREITS Maybe a time to buy

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Len, 31st Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Len

Len Member

Hi I am looking at Buying AREITS for yield to have money coming in.
    Have been looking at BWP Trust, Goodman, and Stocklands.
    Just wondering if this seem ok as I am new to this

Len

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Don't get trapped into thinking yields are high based on historic earnings vs current prices.

The bottom has fallen out of the sector - down 40% since recent peaks 5 weeks ago. In that time, earnings won't have been updated.

upload_2020-3-31_10-29-49.png

Given that many commercial landlords are going to take a big hit with businesses closing up or struggling to pay rent - I think earnings are likely to drop significantly this year.

Yields might look great today - but make sure you understand what the numbers actually mean and what is likely to happen moving forward.

Would be interested to hear the view of some of our other members who I know invest in A-REITs. Maybe there really are some bargains out there?

Redwing, Empire, Player and 1 other person like this.
  3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

@Simon Hampel - that's one helluva correction. If only we had crystal balls to guide us in guessing how many tenants will be going belly up (I'd be avoiding shopping centres would be feeling the pinch as many food court/fashion tenants fail - their returns will be rather flat/negative, whereas those that hold commercial offices/industrial which aren't exposed eg - Distribution Centres or Offices with Government tenants will remain quite strong).

Last edited: 31st Mar, 2020
  4. SatayKing

SatayKing Well-Known Member

Trusts. No reserves. Not for me.

Silverson likes this.
  5. MangoMadness

MangoMadness Well-Known Member

Is it worth a long (2+year) investment?