VIC Areas under $500k with subdivision potential

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by ashaarrh, 10th Jun, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ashaarrh

ashaarrh Well-Known Member

Hi everyone!

Looking into hopefully purchasing a property for under $500k which I could potentially subdivide at some point in the future (next 6 months - 1 year)

Ideally looking for something where I could:
    - perform cosmetic reno then rent out
    - an area with decent rental yields (4%+) so it doesn't cost much per week to maintain
    - look to subdivide and either sell off 2nd block or build at some point in the future

Strategy would be to buy somewhere with good CG growth prospects so I can ride the wave plus manufacture further growth/equity through the reno/subdividing

Any suggestions on areas to look into would much be appreciated.
    Any specific things to look for regarding block sizes etc as I have never done a subdivision before

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Dinner Plains? Bright? Omeo?

3. craigc

craigc Well-Known Member

Narre Warren would go close to meeting all your requirements - depends on 4% yield is on initial or post Reno numbers.
    Issue you will have is Casey Council want to see the build usually done & completed as a requirement of approving the subdivision so you would need to do the build not just split & sell a vacant block.
    Do your own dd of course & I suggest having a chat to town planners who work in whatever areas you are looking at. Check also whether the numbers make it worthwhile & where you think Vic is on property cycle for 'riding the CG wave'.

4. ashaarrh

ashaarrh Well-Known Member

Thanks Craig. I actually live very close to Narre so I'm fairly familiar with the area. Had a look and it's a bit out of my price range, looking at $550-$600k for a block big enough to have subdivision potential.