are we overdue for 'another' Royal Commision into the building industry

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by bmc, 30th Dec, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. bmc

bmc Well-Known Member

following on from the recent event of the high rise building at Olympic Park Sydney.

Olympic Park Residential Tower Evacuation

I am a Surveyor and have worked alongside the construction industry for 35 years.

From what i see first hand is there have been some dodgy (under qualified) builders / developers pop up in the last 10-15 years with the Sydney construction boom, as well as, poor quality construction, and dubious self regulation processes.

A typical scenario is where multiple building sites are overseen by one qualified tradesman, with unqualified labourers performing work unsupervised. Builders are cutting costs, using cheaper materials, and the are jobs not getting inspected as they should, and signed off by dodgy private certifiers.

I have been (and still are) involved in too many recently built developments where the building is full of substandard construction, either structural defects (some major), cosmetic defects, or water leaks. etc etc etc, and the builder and developer is either bankrupt or vanished.

What we see now is a legacy of local governments privatising building regulators, and now relying on the honesty on a fragmented array of Builders, Sub-contractors and Private Certifiers.

The owners are left to pick up the pieces and traverse the legal minefield trying to recover costs or get things rectified.

If you are buying new OTP ? all i can stress is, Caveat emptor

willair, gman65 and Terry_w like this.
  2. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

Ironically, there have been quite a few posts on this site recommending using private surveyors as a way to ‘get a development through’ quickly and as a way to avoid too much fuss.

Scott No Mates likes this.
  3. Scott No Mates