Are houses much better than villas?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by martiancrater, 26th May, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. martiancrater

martiancrater Well-Known Member

We've been looking around for a property in Melbourne (inner east) lately and a few agents have been spruiking the value of houses vs villas with strata. Is it just marketing or do houses have significantly higher % growth over time, even compared with a detached villa of a similar land size?

Does this mean that over time, we'd be expecting house prices to be significantly higher than villas? Would this also mean the difference would get ridiculous eventually (ie. a 300sqm house at $5m vs a 300sqm villa at $2m), or would it equalize eventually?

Sorry if it sounds like a dumb question, I'm still fairly new to this - it's always been something I've been curious about!

2. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

It's not a silly question. Get's asked a lot - and the stats aren't easy to figure out, because they lump apartments, townhouses, villas, whatever, all together....

The main thing restricting major growth on villas is usually because you usually cannot knockdown/rebuild and/or extend.

The Y-man

datto and craigc like this.
  3. skater

skater Well-Known Member

With a house, you own the land, and as @The Y-man said, you can knock it down & build what you want, or subdivide if allowed.

4. aving1001

aving1001 Well-Known Member

In case of house you are sole owner so allows potential for further investments. ( knockdown rebuild subdivision)
    Villas are group of dwelling controlled by a strata corporate body. Say if you have 10 villas under the complex you actually own 10% of shares.

5. martiancrater

Becoming my pet peeve when searching! Sifting through all the apartments to find villas (especially when the apartments are referred to as units)

6. TAJ

TAJ Well-Known Member