Anyone think PPORs hold you back ?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by aussieB, 6th Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. aussieB

aussieB Well-Known Member

Its my first year of owning a PPOR - a new unit with all new and high range appliances - and I think it is holding me back from making decisions about relocating. My contract with my employer is ending soon and I may have plans to relocate. But, I have never relocated before in Australia and its giving me the $hits.

Do we just rent it out furnished ? I think, there is little hope of finding tenants who will take care of the furnishings. Do we just rent the unit out and ship our stuff to the new city ? How do people plan the execution of their moves ?

I envy my colleagues who are mortgage free and can simply pack a bag, pay the lease break fee and move on with life :(

2. Bran

Bran Well-Known Member

I moved my family at least 9 times in the last 7 years, including interstate and overseas.

I kept the PPORs, but rented them empty. I still have the crap furniture I did 10 years ago.

If you have nice stuff, I'd ship it. But it will be damaged.

3. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

Depends how long your moving and where.
    Its just "stuff " in your unit so don't be attached to it you want to rent it furnished!
    If your moving long term take the stuff with you. Depending where your going its about +100/wk for furnished. so if your going longer than a year take it with you.

We have a shed full of stuff being stored away, when we get back to it we'll throw half of it away! Keep it simple, moving is fun

4. samiam

samiam Well-Known Member

we thought about it seriously before we moved overseas (moved 7/8 times in last 6 years). we decided to rent it empty. and it was very painful throwing away/selling out our favourite furnitures.