Any1 investing in index funds or shares here ?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by showtime94, 12th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. showtime94

showtime94 Well-Known Member

Whos investing in shares or index funds here ?
    Do you prefer investing in shares over property? Or property over shares and why ?
    Do you think most people get in property over shares because they can just use equity for property and cant save up to put a good amount in shares ( say 50-100k cash in shares ) or they just go with property?
    Just curious

2. marty998

marty998 Well-Known Member

Yes - mix of shares and property.

Cannot say I'm an expert at either so just having a bob each way. A little in shares, a little in property and a little in cash (offset accounts).

It's a good thing I've got the negative gearing on property to offset the positive income from shares - helps manage the "problem" of paying tax on dividends and distributions.

I just invest in a bog standard index fund (VAS - ASX 300 index).

3. KayTea

KayTea Well-Known Member

Works for me, too

4. PandS

PandS Well-Known Member

both but I am now more into stock market as it easier for me to make the money and a lot less hassle. I do a bit more than just buying shares so I say stock market

still looking at properties for my kids as PPOR when they come of age but I get them on to shares once they grown up and have their first job.

5. showtime94

showtime94 Well-Known Member

Cool., how long have you been invested in the asx 300 made any returns ?

6. Never giveup

Never giveup Well-Known Member

Does anyone know/invest in wrap accounts?

7. wategos

wategos Well-Known Member

Any way you look at it it is not "good" to be negatively geared.. you are losing money. Even or positive is better, even though you pay tax. Negative gearing just softens the loss.

8. skater

skater Well-Known Member