Any advice welcome....very welcome.

Discussion in 'Development' started by NOTAM, 11th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. NOTAM

NOTAM Member

Hello good people of Australia.
    I'm a fist time developer and I'm getting close to signing a contract and it's scaring the crap out of me.
    I was thinking that I would simply write where I'm at and what my plan is in the hope that a few of you fine people may offer some words of wisdom. Any comments are very welcome.

I bought a house in a Western Vic country town a few years ago. I've been dumping as much as I can in the offset account and I now have the same amount in offset as I owe the bank on that property.
    The property is a 1090m2 corner block in the middle of town, zone general residential. Nice and flat, crying out for development.
    I've been speaking to a local project builder and I have a fixed price quote of $241,000 for a 182m2 brick vaneer 3,2,2 house with raised ceilings and a few basic cosmetic and structural upgrades, driveway, split system and dishwasher. Nothing too snazzy.

Slab upgrade was $8000, connection to sewer, power pit and mains water are about $20,000. No other significant site works.

The project includes planning for subdivision but we are not subdividing at this time. We have approval for a clause 55 build (2 dwellings on one lot)
    We plan to keep them both indefinitely as rentals. We can easily (hopefully) divide them in the future if we really need to.

The original house is obviously cash flow positive (being effectively payed off). The new build will rent for $320 a week which will cover interest on $250,000 plus all holding costs, so will be positively geared from the start. It will not quite cover principal AND interest payments plus all holding costs though, so it won't quite be set-and-forget until I've built up the offset a little.