Another newbie from Melbourne

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by AlphabetSoup, 21st Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AlphabetSoup

AlphabetSoup Active Member

Hey there everyone,

I'm a long time lurker, early 30s female from the Melbourne inner suburbs. I've been thinking that we are living in interesting economic times, and thought it would be worthwhile creating an account so I could contribute to the discussion. Currently a renter, but had been saving towards a deposit for a first home.

Will be interesting to see what property prices do, as a recession may mean I have the potential to purchase in an area I thought I had been locked out of (I work in the healthcare sector, thank goodness).

Also thinking this site will provide a bit of relief from the hectic shifts that I will no doubt be subjected to in the coming weeks.

Lovely to meet you all!
    AlphabetSoup

Jess Peletier likes this.
  2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum.

How are healthcare workers protecting themselves day to day?

Have you had a chat with a broker to get an idea of what you can borrow because if prices do slump, this could be an opportunity (as you have suggested).

Stay safe. We need our healthcare workers so much right now.

3. AlphabetSoup

Thanks for the welcome Wylie!

On our ward, it feels as though we are in preparation mode, but we expect things to be more challenging in the coming weeks. Surprisingly, we haven't had any confirmed patient diagnoses of inpatients in our hospital yet (an inner metro tertiary hospital), but we have a fever clinic and staff are sent over there as soon as it is suspected they might be showing symptoms. Staff with symptoms are told to assume they are infected and to self-isolate until results come through. Results are now being fast tracked for healthcare staff.