Annoyed at home loan application

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Kim, 4th Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Kim

Kim Member

I'm annoyed after the moment , I am really new to this whole thing and went through the home loan application process. I had a meeting with a Finance Manager to discuss the specific details like the loan amount, interest rate etc.

He told me the application fee and asked if I wanted it to be submitted. I said yes go ahead, I was happy with everything we had discussed.

I just got an email to say that my loan has been conditionally approved but they have now increased the interest rate by quite a large amount.

I will now be charged the application fee of $440.

Need advice.
    Thanks Kim

2. MC1

MC1 Well-Known Member

Which bank?

3. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

That is frustrating. First step is to get in touch with the finance manager to get it amended.

Second step, if he can't sort it out, is to get a broker to help you find a better lender - if you're looking to start a portfolio, having a good broker on your side can set you up properly for the long term and also take away the need to deal with banks directly.

Sackie, C-mac, Colin Rice and 2 others like this.
  4. srirang

srirang Well-Known Member

Definitely have a chat with a broker, especially if you are planning to build a portfolio not just a one-off.

There are a few on this forum that are very generous with their help and advice.

Colin Rice likes this.
  5. Kim

Kim Member

I have asked that the original interest rate be honoured , the Finance Manager replied that there had been a rate change that's come from an Executive level.

It's not a bank - it's Reduce Home Loans

6. Kim

Kim Member