Airbnb Yield

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by TypingDog, 8th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. TypingDog

TypingDog Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum, so if this is in the wrong place just shoot me a DM and I'll remove the post.

I've been scouring different options to maximize yield and have come across Airbnb as potentially optimal.

After taking into account a higher vacancy rate and cleaning costs, the yield works out to be ~8% (across a few properties in Melbourne). This beats almost any residential property in Melbourne, what am I missing? Higher insurance costs?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Kind regards,

Typing Dog.

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Extra work, costs, legal issues, management logistics, required furnishings, insurance? Also the fact that it doesn't really work that well for the average rental?

Lots of things to think about imo - its certainly not automatically better than long term letting.

TypingDog, Perthguy and Terry_w like this.
  3. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

You need to find out if you are actually permitted to run an airbnb. A lot of strata complexes do not allow it and some councils have rules you must follow.

Also factor set up costs. Mine cost more than $30k to set up even with second hand furniture from gumtree. Ongoing costs are quite high, for example my most recent power bill was $566. Ouch!

Beano and TypingDog like this.
  4. Beano

Beano Well-Known Member

Over what period and how many units did select to calculate 8% ?
    Was this gross or net ?
    Did it allow capX or depreciation of the appliances/furnishing?

5. moridog

moridog Well-Known Member