WA Advise on selecting Tenant for new IP - Perth

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by LeonK, 4th May, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. LeonK

LeonK Member

I managed to secure my first IP in Waikiki, Rockingham and just going through the process of renting it through a local PM in the area. As this is my first time, I am struggling to select the tenant.

So far, there have been a single open viewing and my PM mentioned there were around 4 applications and have forwarded me a single application as most appropriate/ preferred. The application is from couple with a kid and I am finding few red flags:

- Currently staying with applicant's mum but mentioned that they rented for 8 years before that. The name of the PM they gave reference for does not appear in the agency's team on it's website. I couldn't find that name even in google search.

- Above is the only valid reference as per me as the other reference is from applicant's mum (which according to me holds no merit)

- The reason for leaving the rented house is given as - the owner moved in. However, I can see that the property was rented out last month. It is also mentioned that they have been unsuccessful in securing any rental since leaving the previous house.

Am I overthinking and over-complicating the selection? Is this the basic due diligence and should have been done by leasing team itself? The leasing team is telling me that it is difficult to find tenant in this area!

Any suggestions/ inputs would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Ask the pm for the details of the other applicants.

LeonK likes this.
  3. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Probably.

As mentioned above, you can ask for the other applications, but none of the stuff you mentioned seems like a big deal/probably has an innocent explanation.

What were you hoping to get?

Michael Mitchell likes this.
  4. LeonK

LeonK Member