Advise -First time buying for development

Discussion in 'Development' started by Lui819, 17th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lui819

Lui819 New Member

Hello,
    My brother and I are thinking to buy a old house/land anywhere in the lower north shore (Sydney). Then we would like to build two 3 bedrooms townhouses or apartments so each of us can live there with the family
    I am new in this topic so I would like to know the basics when looking for a property/ land to buy(example zoning, minimum land size, minimum requirements, strict/hard councils, etc)
    I would really appreciate if you could give me some advice.
    Thank you!

2. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

The issues with loans and land titles etc all will impact this. eg If it is a single title you cant each get loans and be protected from the other not making repayments etc.

If you build a duplex then the intentions seem clear that the build is a PPOR issue and land tax and CGT concessions will possible benefit (although I think Clause 9 of the new land tax ruling says you cant get exemption from land tax while you build a duplex). The problem will be how to get two titles - ie a subdivide ? That comes with costs.

If you build more on the land than for the two of you (ie 3 x TH) then a issue of concern can also occur where it seems you are mixing "home"and profit-making. That can harm your CGT exemption too.

If I was you I would find a great broker who can sort out the main issues and define it a little so you have a idea on structuring your plans and the finance first. Terry would be the guy IMO.

Lui819 and Perthguy like this.
  3. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

Many many many things.