Advice on timing of buying into index fund

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Renmel, 19th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Renmel

Renmel New Member

Hi,

I apologise if this question is extremely naive - I am very new to investing and have not taken quickly to all these new (to me) financial concepts.

I have a reasonable little pot of cash that I have decided to invest in an index fund. I looked into index fund vs ETF and decided to go with the index fund option as I think that suits my needs better at this stage.

My question is - does timing matter when it comes to buying into the fund? For example, if I happen to sign up on a day that the market is in a slump, does that make any difference to me? If so, what advice would you have about when to buy into the index fund - should I wait until there is a slump in the market, and if so, to what degree and based on what outcome measures?

Thanks!

2 people like this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

i have index focused ETFs ( and other styles of ETFs )

yes timing DOES matter but so can the dividends lost waiting for that magical opportunity ( low price ) and that is where it can get tricky

this is a short lesson on compounding

The Effect Of Compounding

and a short lesson on dividend reinvestment

Dividend Reinvestment Plan - DRIP

now index funds ( by nature) track the index they focus onm so your index fund MIGHT increase measurably ( but don't count on that ) but the divs on the way is the main game ( if your reinvest your divs your $$$ values should increase courtesy of the div money trickling in )

IF i knew ( and i DON'T ) the market would fall big in February i would say WAIT , but that drop could be any time the next year ( or year after .. or the year after that or .. )