Advice on strategy?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by pyonaphan, 21st Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pyonaphan

pyonaphan New Member

Hi all

Thanks for reading my post. I'm looking for some advice on how people think I should be planning in the next few years

I’m 33, partnered (we keep finances separate), no children (won’t be having any)
    My income from work is about 150k from salary, rent 23.5k

I am a professional and my income will double next year when I get a final qualification

Assets
    House 1 - in my name - (inner city suburb) rented - value 800-850k, mortgage 479k (fixed rate until next year, no offset) P&I repayments. Rent pretty much covers mortgage
    House 2 finance shared with partner- (inner suburb in a different city) - value 1.42m, mortgage 1.27 (205k cash in offset - P&I repayments) (partner and I will split mortgage payments but currently the payments are coming out of the offset as we are not living there and using as a holiday home)
    We are currently living in my partners other home and I do not pay towards living costs there
    Plan is to move into House 2 in next 6 months

Super - 110k
    Art/Furniture - 20k

‘Good’ Debt - renovation to House 1
    Personal loan 7% interest - 50k
    Personal loan 0% interest - 10k
    I consider this good, as it created the equity I have in the property
    ‘Bad’ Debt
    Credit Cards all 0% interest now for next 2 years (this spending has been my Achilles heel) - 40k

I know the situation on House 2 is eating up equity right now as payments are coming out but we will be making the contributions towards the mortgage soon. The amount we have in offset though means we are still paying down principle which mitigates it a bit.