Advice on investing in the US stocks

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by Melissa Lee, 2nd May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Melissa Lee

Melissa Lee Member

I am a newbie when it comes to investing in shares and I have about AUD100k available with some savings, which I would like to invest in the stock market for long term investment. My job is secure at the moment. I am keen in buying some US stocks now and I have an account opened in Stake.
    1) Stake charges 0.7% (USD) for every AUD100 transferred. I have done my research and found them to be one of the better ones, however I am just wondering if anyone has any other lower fee option which does not charge such high fee. I would still like to use Stake and they do allow transfer if I have USD available to their account.
    When compared with some foreign exchange trader, they may not have any fee but the exchange rate is pretty low. I haven't traded with them before so unsure if it worth using those trader to transfer to my Stake account. Any suggestion is appreciated. I don't have intention to do the trade very often hence zero brokerage fee works for me.
    2) Is it advisable to do any investment in the US given the current low exchange rate?
    3) Just curious what is everyone is buying right now either in Australia or US and why? Off course, I do understand the rule of doing own research before buying any stocks.

Thanks heaps.

2. Fargo

Fargo Well-Known Member