WA Advice on Cheap Renovations in Perth

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Luke Turner, 5th Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Luke Turner

Luke Turner Member

Hey,

First time post, but have been reading the threads for a while so thanks for the information.

I am currently living in Sydney but I am moving to Perth once I have finished the renovation that I am on. (Carpentry job for a client not Property Investment).

I am moving there because I see all around the CBD there are properties within the 200k-250k mark with the potential for me to use my skills and renovate. I am a builder and have been for the past 12 years and I have always done residential work so I have seen it all.

I currently teaching myself the other side of the process which is the buying and selling of the house and everything else that comes with it which is new to me.

I am also single and plan to live in the house whilst renovating.

My question really is, is it too good to be true with these prices? I see I can buy a cheap 60/70s style place and transform it quickly and efficiently, to then maximise the end goal of being either hold on to it or rent the place out.

Anybody have an opinion on this plan?

All advice appreciated and thank you in advance.

Thanks

Luke

2. Shogun

Shogun Well-Known Member

$200k/$250k not sure what you're looking at "around" CBD

3. Luke Turner

Luke Turner Member

4. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

I’m not sure I’d call it “too good to be true” if after all that renovation work you wouldn’t barely get your costs and effort’s worth back in capital growth.

Which I imagine would be the case nearly all the time with properties in that price range.

Comparing prices to Sydney otherwise isn’t really that helpful.

5. Luke Turner

Luke Turner Member

Hey thanks for the response.

But would it not depend on how much you put into the renovation?