Advice for someone starting out

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Vetty, 5th May, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Vetty

Vetty New Member

Hey all!

I’ve heard great things about this website and was hoping to ask for much needed some wisdom and expertise on my situation.

I’m currently 24, working a full time graduate job taking in about $1.1k a week. I graduated absolutely hating my degree and after taking on the job full time for 4 months I find myself even more miserable. I was initially planning on straight up quitting and changing to something I’d much prefer doing (which is slightly lower pay to start off with) however, I realised I could possibly use this opportunity to purchase my first investment property while my income is higher before I change jobs.

Before anyone says the idea is straight up terrible (which it might be) and that I’ll need to find a way to cover repayments, the property I’m looking to purchase is my family home and is also capable of generating rental income of about $350/week. My parents are willing to help me and have suggested that subsequent to purchasing the property they would help with repayments if I decide to make the job change. I would still be living at home subsequent to the purchase.

My living expenses are currently quite low (living at home), I’ve been in my current industry for 6 years (inclusive of working part time while at uni), have around $60k for a deposit and the new job although lower paid the first year has a future potential of earning far more compared to current job - not to mention its something I enjoy.