Advice for next step

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Joseph33, 2nd Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Joseph33

Joseph33 Well-Known Member

Hey guys, just looking for some advice and anything would be greatly appreciated. I'm Currently married with twins on the way and we live in sydney. unfortunately we missed the boat here and didnt buy as we kept thinking things were over priced. We're currently living with my mum but will be moving out soon as the the family is growing. We bought an ip in brisbane earlier this year in the logan area and currently getting a 7% return on our investment. our current loan on our ip is 321k and the bank valued the property at 415k about three months ago.

Im a licensed builder in both NSW and Qld, Currently have my own concreting buisness and am also a qualified bricklayer. My wife and I would both love to buy a home here in sydney but we both don't think its a good time now as things seem very over priced and it almost feels like the tip of the iceberg. We need to move out in a couple of months and are thinking of renting for a year to see how the market goes. We have 40k set aside as savings and could release some equity for another deposit. We are thinking of buying another ip with the aim of adding some value and yield as we previously did and build up a portfolio.

One thing im worried about is If we buy another ip, its going to limit our capability of possibly buying a ppor in sydney in a years time. I know that investing is all about having a stratedgy, but to be honest we don't currently have one and its something we're working on. I would love to keep investing as my industry really helps with renovations and so on.

there is three ways we can go for here

1) buy another ip and rent in sydney
    2) keep saving for now and rent in sydney and look to but in a years time.
    3) push our selves now and just try to buy a ppor