QLD Advice for my parents

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Kris85, 6th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kris85

Kris85 Well-Known Member

Question to all those Brisbane investors out there. Asking on behalf of parents (not myself, sadly).

They are QLDers but they live in London (for now) and currently own 5 properties in: West End x 2, Annerley, East Brisbane, Stafford Heights, all mortgage free. Have recently sold another one in Gordon Park and have $1.2 million to re-invest. They are not after long-term capital gains as they will be too old to realise them, they want cash flow for retirement. They are also not investors by trade, this is passive income and hence they do not want to look far and wide and deal with tenants and property managers in various states. They have been looking for a couple of months, with varying success. Some estate agents (amongst others) have suggested they buy a house for around $1.5 mill somewhere <5km from CBD where it is still somewhat affordable (ie East Brisbane) and buy a higher end property that would rent on a corporate least for around $1300-1800 per week (these figures seem inflated to me though I have no idea as to the demand or lack of demand). Others have pushed for 2 properties a bit further out (~5-10km from CBD). They're not that interested in getting 3 or 4 properties with small mortgages either. It's either 1 'big' property or 2 properties. Something requiring a reno would be okay though again that won't happen for a while. I live and work in Auckland so have zero knowledge of the Brisbane market (though it seems somewhat more sedate than Auckland).

Nice problem to have, obviously. Any ideas? Cheers.

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member