Additional loan to purchase fully franked shares

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Abooking, 4th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Abooking

Abooking Well-Known Member

I took out an additional loan off the mortgage linked to my I.P- to buy fully franked domestic equities.

I want to sell most of them and invest on nasdaq in technology shares. Ive made 30% return in 12 months on a big chunk of shares I purchased last yr and think that Im wasting time having my money on the ASX. I will obviously receive small tax breaks by having the fully franked shares paying dividends but Im better off changing my investment strategy; as I think that I can make substantial gains abroad. Also, Im a non resident of oz for tax purposes and thus I dont have to pay tax on any capital gains from the share market. The tax that I will save from making huge gains will far outweigh the tax benefits of having fully franked shares using money that I borrowed from my mortgage.

Question: based on the fact that I borrowed money off the mortgage in the first place can I simply NOT claim the interest component on that borrowed money from the time that I sold the shares on the ASX. Please tell me there is no tax law stating that I have to legally pay back the funds to my mortgage .... Its the nanny state of australia and thus I thought I better ask.

thanks

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Youbwont be able to claim interesr on a loan used to buy shares after you no longer hold those shares

3. Abooking

Abooking Well-Known Member

thanks for your reply. Is there any tax law in oz that states that Im obliged to pay back the additional funds back to the mortgage. I hope not

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member