Adding 3rd Bedroom to our Villa.

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by JimBass, 6th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JimBass

JimBass Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

We've been looking at possible ways to add a 3rd bedroom to our villa unit within the roof line. We currently have one child and will probably have a second in the coming years. We plan on eventually purchasing a house but for now we're happy with where we are. If we could add a third bedroom it would mean a few more years at this current PPOR and I would imagine it would not only add value but also increase the rental return on the property if we decide to turn it into an investment property.

The villa is on a sloping block and we have great access under the unit. My father is a carpenter and I have a lot of trade experience so we'd be doing almost everything ourselves to keep costs down. Basically the idea is to turn the current bathroom, toilet and laundry into a 3rd bedroom (Roughly 2.7m x 3.6m) and then cut a bit off our main bedroom to create a new bathroom which would be a narrow (1.1-1.2m x 3.6m). I've attached a very rough sketch to give people a better idea of what we are thinking. We'd then put a european laundry in our hallway cupboard.

My concerns are whether ..
    1. The bathroom is far too small? I think it will be fine considering the place itself is small but wouldn't want it to be a deal breaker for majority of potential buyers/renters.
    2. Will the lack of a large main bedroom put off buyers in the future? The bedroom size would be 3 or 2.9 x 3.6 depending on how wide we make the bathroom.

The Villa is located in the inner east suburbs of Melbourne so I think the pro's would definitely outweigh any cons as anything 3 bedroom and up sells for a high price generally.