About to inherit a sum of money...

Discussion in 'Wills & Estate Planning' started by Renovator, 5th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Renovator

Renovator New Member

Hi everyone,

Newbie here!
    I'm hoping to get some guidance here.

I'm about to inherit a large sum of money from parents and I'm currently in a de-facto relationship.
    My parents want me to have a legal document draw up with my partner which will essentially protect me from losing that money (in case things get nasty).

What are my choices for this legal document?
    I've done a little bit of reading on this and I've come across BFA's (Binding Financial Agreements).

Is this my only choice? And if so, what is wrong with just getting draft up a very well worded documents (ie something that says she will not touch the money if something were to happen) between my partner and I..and having it witnessed by a JP or something?

Thanks!

2. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

Having heard of some horror stories, I'd speak to someone like @Terry_w quicksmart, and yes, make sure its 100% tightly sewn up. I think it's only fair on your parents (and you).

Tom Rivera and legallyblonde like this.
  3. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

Agreements like that are generally worth the paper they are written on. You cant contract away rights under family law

4. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

If your parents are alive, I think it’s a gift not an inheritance.

legallyblonde and Terry_w like this.
  5. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Have you discussed this with your partner?
    What if she refuses to sign on the grounds you should trust her to do the right thing, which clearly you don't?
    You may have to decide if your relationship is more important to you that the gift of money.
    There are no right or wrong answers, just things to consider.
    Marg

kierank, MTR and jim1964 like this.
  6. hobartchic

hobartchic Well-Known Member