A question regarding the condition of property when purchasing for capital growth

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Alf83, 30th Jun, 2023.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alf83

Alf83 Well-Known Member

Firstly, I apologize if my question appears inexperienced as I am relatively new to the investment property market.

I want to buy an investment property with the primary goal of capital growth in mind. I would like to buy a bigger land in case I have enough money to subdivide and build it in a few years. So, I'm looking at land sizes above 700 sqm at the moment. However, I would just sell it as it is, or renovate and sell it if I cannot afford subdivision and building new units.

Now, I'm wondering if it would be a mistake to purchase a property in good or very good condition to generate more rental income during the period between purchase and sale. The reason I'm asking is because it seems there's a strong idea that it's better to buy a property that needs renovation, but when I look at the renovated property prices vs the ones that need to be renovated, I don't see how I can renovate those and make a profit?!

For example, I recently saw a property for $880k which is in very good condition. Same size properties with poorer condition in that suburb go for around $800k. Shouldn't I buy the one with better condition? In other words, how much the gap should be between a property with poor condition vs one with good condition to justify buying the poorer one? I know this is a relative question, and it depends on the property, but please consider following scenario:
    Two 4-bedroom properties with similar land and building size in the same suburb, one with good condition listed for $880k, and the other with poorer condition listed for $800k. Recently renovated properties in this suburb are sold for around $1 million dollars. Which one would you buy?

Your suggestions are welcome and appreciated.