A question about yields and interest rates?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Beelzebub, 21st Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Beelzebub

Beelzebub Well-Known Member

My understanding is that due to the magic of economics, if interest rates rise so to will yields. However, I'm wondering to what extent?

For example, was it possible to buy cash flow positive property when rates were 18% in 1991? Could you get cash flow positive property just before the GFC when the banks were charging 8-9%?

And importantly, if interest rates begin to rise soon, can we expect that rents will also rise while property values stagnate meaning cash-flow positive opportunities will still be available?

Haven't seen a cycle yet, I'm just a noob

Beelzebub

2. FireDragon

FireDragon Well-Known Member

I was still a teenager in 1991, but my parents told me commercial properties dropped a lot around that time (I think they said it was around half from the peak). The yield was around 18-20% for commercial properties.

3. WattleIdo

WattleIdo midas touch

While rents probably won't rise just because interest rates do, it is enevitable that at some point rents will rise and property prices will stagnate. Yes, this happens. I'm really looking forward to it.
    In order for this situation to gain full momentum, property has to be 'on the nose' - not fashionable like it is atm. That will require a chain of events such as interest rates rising (we can all see it coming) + poor yields + good activity in stocks & shares + other events which encourage renting over buying.
    The boom hasn't even stopped in Sydney yet. Seems to have slowed down in the last few weeks but then it's been winter so hard to tell. Rents are healthy there though. Have just increased mine again.