QLD A little advice

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Goodfella, 24th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Goodfella

Goodfella Member

Hi,
    I am first time buyer/ investor. Due to nature of my job, any house I buy will potentially become an investment in 1 to 3 years. Ideally I will like to buy somewhere I will like to live first to take advantage of any first home buyer perks but I am also concern about capital growth and all that.

I do have the potential to borrow up to 700k (banks offered more but I think there's a difference between borrowing capacity and repayment capacity. The banks overestimated my repayment capacity). I am now living North Lakes, QLD, that, despite all the bagging my peers gave me for making the move, I am actually loving it. Having lived in places like New Farm, Toowong, St Lucia (hey, I was a uni student who became a young professional, and who is now approaching middle-age and almost irrelevant), Stafford heights, Montville, Yeppoon... I am surprised to find that I actually love living in this planned estate where all the houses look the same (actually they don't. But you have to pay a lot more for the difference, like everything else). Maybe I am just a boring person deep down inside who loves the appeal of convenience and simplicity of limited choices (in new farm, deciding which cafe to go for breakfast can result in a heated argument amongst friends). A good house in this area on a good size block - 600m2 and above, is within my budget. I even found some with rental yields of 4.5 to 5%.

The problem- it won't be my forever home. There is a lot of new townhouses coming up which I think will affect rental yield. I am concern about capital growth but reassured by the infrastructure and new developments around it- rightly or wrongly.